Hubei XSK Power Tech.CO.,Ltd
You are here: Home » News » Cummins Honors Ten Inventors With The Annual Julius PERR Innovation Awards

Cummins Honors Ten Inventors With The Annual Julius PERR Innovation Awards

Views: 0     Author: Columbus, Ind.     Publish Time: 2024-05-23      Origin: Cummins News


facebook sharing button
twitter sharing button
line sharing button
wechat sharing button
linkedin sharing button
pinterest sharing button
whatsapp sharing button
sharethis sharing button

Cummins Honors Ten Inventors With The Annual Julius PERR Innovation Awards


Cummins Inc. (NYSE:CMI) announced the 2024 recipients of the company’s most prestigious technical award, the Julius Perr Innovation award. Now in its 24th year, the award recognizes employees who demonstrated excellence in innovation and technology by developing significant intellectual property for our products.

This year’s recipients are Jim L. Alonzo, Mihai Chiruta, Roy W. Detra, David L. Dunnuck, Lindsey R. Henry, Jerry Liu, Achuth Munnannur, Glaucio G. De Oliveira, Niklas M Schmidt and Jacob W. Smith.

Winners of the Perr Award smiling

About the innovations

The first winning patents relate to multi-stage, multi-vane mixing in our engine aftertreatment systems.

Alonzo, Chiruta, Detra, Dunnuck, Henry, Liu, Munnannur and Schmidt developed technology that ultimately displaced the use of a third-party mixing devices in our products while simultaneously delivering a 99% effectiveness in resolving field issues. This invention, protected through a series of multiple patents, relies on a multi-stage, multi-vane mixer design utilizing technical concepts such as asymmetric swirl, Venturi and virtual interception, in combination with highly optimized placement of the mixing devices with respect to aftertreatment reductant injection, engine exhaust flow and selective catalytic reduction system.

The second winning technology, Smith and De Oliveira invented a method of protecting against arc-flash in a genset. This safety driven feature enters an enhanced arc flash protection mode upon the detection of a person in the proximity to the unit. The invention is included in our AMPSENTRY™ genset controls, used on most large gensets manufactured by Cummins today. This innovation was also instrumental to our ability to provide an industry leading solution to increasing stringent electrical standards starting in 2014.

About the Awards

This award was created to honor Dr. Julius Perr, who retired from Cummins in 1997 as Vice President - Fuel Systems.  Dr. Perr, who died in 2005, joined Cummins in 1958 after fleeing Communist Hungary. He made Columbus, Indiana (USA) home and began a 41-year career as a Cummins engineer and leader. In his lifetime, he was named the inventor or co-inventor of 186 granted patents and remains an inspiration to many in our industry.

Perr Award

2024 Ceremony

The Dr. Julius Perr Innovation Awards Ceremony was held on May 6th and featured Jon Wood and other leaders. Our special guests also included members of the Perr Family and review committee.

Review Committee

Members of a selection committee, made up of leaders from across all business units, meet yearly to evaluate patents that have created significant value for our products. In 2024, over 1100 patents were reviewed for consideration before selecting the final patent award recipients. Since 2000, only 86 patents have been selected for this prestigious award with each invention adding value to our brand promise of innovation and dependability.

Let the world see the charm of "Made in China", "Made in China with Wisdom", and "Made in China with high quality".
  0086-710-2828838 / 0086-18772211931
  Sinocaowei
  0086-18772211931
16 Blocks and 16 Rooms of Jinxiu Auto Parts City, No. 1 Dongfeng Automobile Avenue, Xiangyang High-tech Zone, Xiangyang City, Hubei Province, China
Copyright  2021 Hubei Xinshengkang Power Technology Co., Ltd. All Rights Resered.   【鄂ICP备19016708号】